The Mission

We’re only as dirty as our secrets. However, when we surround ourselves with people who are similar to ourselves, our secrets may seem the absolute norm. Smoking, overeating, and even using drugs can be perfectly fine in many circles, as well as a myriad of other potential addictive behavior spanning relationships.

I’d like to address the obvious and the physical. The stuff that has obvious molecular implications and physical effects. For my anecdote, food, nicotine, and prescription drugs.

The significance of the first paragraph highlights exactly why I feel quite alone in the loophole of the acceptable forms I consume the above. I am not overweight and I work out, which gets me out of addressing my relationship with food. Loophole. I consume my nicotine via vapor, which have gotten off defending by producing research articles regarding the safety of vapor in comparison to cigarettes. Loophole. I am prescribed my medication of ADHD, and almost everyone in my field seems to be prescribed it too. Loophole.

The counter to my loophole method is awareness. The cognitive dissonance I experience any time I engage in said behaviors, drives one to still want to transform even when receiving the green light from my society. I do not see myself as “quitting”, I believe that suggests I would be ceasing a part of me, whereas “transforming” means I am just altering the habits I have learned to engage in for healthier ones. This methodology will remove slipups and setbacks to be just part of the transformative process and help avoid all or nothing thinking.

For anyone who can relate, we humans are social beings, it is not a mistake you landed on this blog, I would greatly appreciate to hear from you.

Let’s get this mission rolling.

Leave a Reply

